Photo Joulnar El Husseini-McCormick

Joulnar El Husseini-Mccormick

Residential Real Estate Broker

I was born and raised in Syria, which is dependent on two cultures; Syrian and French. I studied History of Religions in Geneva (Switzerland) and then lived for about 30 years alternating between Switzerland and France. Having married a Canadian, I came to visit Canada and we decided to move to Montreal because it is a city I fell in love with right away.

I had two professional lives before getting into real estate. First I worked in Geneva as a project assistant in a chemical company that manufactures substances useful to the perfume industry.  Then I was a cultural interpreter for refugees, mostly Syrian, in Montreal. This last experience was very striking and allowed me to be at the forefront of listening to and understanding their stories, journeys, joys, and sorrows, and it could be quite poignant at times. One night, at the reception centre next to the airport, I met a Syrian woman who lives in Montreal. As our conversation progressed, we discovered that my grandmother was her French teacher in Syria and that she was the one who gave her a taste for the French language. It makes you realize how small the world is.

My third profession, that of real estate broker, came naturally. The broker who accompanied us during our search for our condo suggested that I start my own business and my passion for this profession quickly revealed itself. Passion is one of the essential qualities of a good broker, followed by perseverance and integrity.

In my spare time, I enjoy everything related to culture, music, dance, and literature. I still volunteer with newcomers to bridge the gap between them and their new city. I find that Montreal emanates an incredible and positive energy and diversity that immediately appealed to me. I love attending the many events offered in Montreal. I live in Mile End, a beautiful neighbourhood that reminds me of a village in the big city.

Photo Joulnar El Husseini-McCormick

Joulnar El Husseini-Mccormick

Courtier immobilier résidentiel

Je suis née et j’ai grandi en Syrie tributaire de deux cultures ; syrienne et française. J’ai fait des études en histoire des religions à Genève (Suisse), puis j’ai vécu pendant une trentaine d’année  en alternance entre la Suisse et la France. Ayant épousé un Canadien, je suis venue en visite au Canada et on a décidé de s’installer à Montréal, car c’est une ville pour laquelle j’ai tout de suite eu un coup de foudre.

J’ai eu deux vies professionnelles avant de me lancer dans l’immobilier. Tout d’abord, j’ai travaillé à Genève comme assistante de projet dans une entreprise de chimie qui fabrique des substances utile à l’industrie de la parfumerie.  Puis, j’étais interprète culturelle pour les réfugiés, essentiellement syriens, à Montréal. Cette dernière expérience, très marquante, m’a permis d’être au premier rang pour écouter et comprendre leurs histoires, parcours, joies et tristesses, et ça pouvait parfois être assez poignant. Une nuit, au centre d’accueil situé à côté de l’aéroport, j’ai rencontré une syrienne installée à Montréal. Au fil de notre conversation, on découvre que ma grand-mère était son enseignante de français en Syrie et que c’est elle qui lui a donné le goût de la langue française. Ça fait réaliser à quel point le monde est petit.

Ma troisième profession, celle de courtier immobilier, est venue naturellement. La courtière qui nous a accompagnées lors de notre recherche pour l’achat de notre condo m’a suggéré de m’y lancer et la passion pour ce métier s’est révélée rapidement. La passion est d’ailleurs pour moi une des qualités indispensables à un bon courtier, suivie de la persévérance et de l’intégrité.

Pour ce qui est de mes temps libres, j’aime tout ce qui est en lien avec la culture, la musique, la danse et la littérature. Je m’implique encore bénévolement avec les nouveaux arrivants afin de faire le pont entre eux et leur nouvelle ville. Je trouve qu’il émane de Montréal une énergie incroyable et positive doublé d’une diversité qui m’ont tout de suite séduit. J’adore assister aux nombreux évènements qui y sont offerts. J’habite le Mile End, magnifique quartier qui me rappelle un village dans la grande ville.