Patrice Dansereau

Patrice Dansereau

Real Estate Broker

Born in Montreal, I grew up in Outremont and have been living on the Plateau Mont-Royal for almost 40 years now. I worked for a long time in the publishing industry before becoming a real estate broker for more than eleven years now. Books and houses are still my current passions.

Working in the publishing industry, I had the opportunity to touch on all aspects of publishing and I therefore went through the entire book chain: from its manufacture to its distribution, including its creation and distribution. In turn, I have been: bookseller, publisher, broadcaster, relationalist and author. As a real estate broker, I like to touch many aspects of the business in the same way and that’s why I deal with residential and commercial transactions, in Montreal, on the Plateau as well as on the north or south shore.

When I chose to interrupt my involvement in the world of books, it was first and foremost to rediscover the pleasure of regaining human contact; my work as a bookseller had brought me a lot of satisfaction, and I discovered that working with both sellers and buyers could bring me the same joy, but with a much higher level of challenge. For more than eleven years now, the challenges have always been great and stimulating.

Because the work of a real estate broker is demanding, because you have to learn not to count your hours, because you have to be able to keep yourself available almost at all times, our leisure activities remain an absolutely essential period to maintain our balance. The time we spend with family and friends is essential and precious. In the very same way, I would add that the time when I can culturally “feed” myself is just as essential; in this sense, books have remained a cherished friend.

If it were necessary to name three qualities that are essential to a good broker, I would gladly name listening, listening and listening. If we really had to add to this indispensable quality, I would name the availability of a good worker, the emotional intelligence and talents of a good diplomat who possesses the savoir-vivre that is essential for good exchanges.

Having had the chance to travel a little bit around the world and cross some of the most prestigious capitals, I remember this first quality of Montreal: the people who live in this city know how to give it a unique colour that makes it possible to make Montreal a safe place where exchanges are easy and communication is direct. Montrealers’ bonhommie is the best anti-stress treatment available!

Patrice Dansereau

Patrice Dansereau

Courtier immobilier

Natif de Montréal, j’ai grandi à Outremont et je vis depuis maintenant presque 40 ans sur le Plateau Mont-Royal. J’ai longtemps travaillé dans le milieu du livre avant d’embrasser la carrière de courtier immobilier depuis maintenant plus de onze ans. Le livre et les maisons sont encore mes passions actuelles.

En travaillant dans le milieu du livre, j’ai eu la chance de toucher à tous les aspects de l’édition et j’ai donc traversé toute la chaine du livre : de sa fabrication à sa distribution en passant par la création et la diffusion. Tour à tour, j’ai été : libraire, éditeur, diffuseur, relationniste et auteur. En tant que courtier immobilier, j’aime pareillement toucher à beaucoup d’aspect du métier et c’est pourquoi je traite des transactions résidentielles et commerciales, à Montréal, sur le Plateau comme sur la rive nord ou la rive sud.

Quand j’ai choisi d’interrompre mon engagement dans le milieu du livre, c’était d’abord et avant tout pour retrouver le plaisir de retrouver le contact humain ; mon travail de libraire m’avait apporté beaucoup de satisfaction, et j’ai découvert que le travail avec des vendeurs comme avec des acheteurs pouvait m’apporter la même joie, mais avec un niveau de défi bien supérieur. Depuis plus de onze ans maintenant, jamais les défis n’ont été aussi grands et stimulants.

Parce que le travail de courtier immobilier est exigeant, parce qu’il faut apprendre à ne pas compter ses heures, parce qu’il faut savoir se garder disponible presque en tout temps, nos loisirs restent une période absolument essentielle pour maintenir notre équilibre. Les moments que nous passons avec la famille et les amis sont à cet effet, indispensable et précieux. De la même façon, j’ajouterai que le temps où je pourrai me « nourrir » culturellement est tout aussi essentiel ; en ce sens, le livre est demeuré un ami cher.

S’il fallait nommer trois qualités indispensables à un bon courtier, je nommerais volontiers l’écoute, l’écoute ainsi que l’écoute. S’il fallait vraiment ajouter à cette qualité indispensable, je nommerai la disponibilité d’un bon ouvrier, l’intelligence émotionnelle et les talents d’un bon diplomate qui possède le savoir-vivre essentiel aux bons échanges.

Ayant eu la chance de voyager un peu à travers le monde et de traverser quelques capitales prestigieuses, je retiens cette qualité première de Montréal : les gens qui habitent cette ville savent lui donner une coloration unique qui permet de faire de Montréal un lieu sécuritaire où les échanges sont faciles et la communication, directe. La bonhommie des Montréalais est le meilleur anti-stress qui se puisse !